Tour de France in La Rosière : 18th July 2018

On Wednesday 18th July 2018, La Rosière – Espace San Bernardo has hosted the finish of the 11th stage of the Tour de France!

La Rosière has never organised a stage finish for this world-famous cycling race before, so we’re pulling out all the stops to host a suitably impressive celebration! The announcement was made by Christian Prudhomme, director of the Tour, on Tuesday 17th October during the official unveiling of the route for the 2018 event. The crowds will be out in force for this exciting mountain stage, which promises to be one of the key tests of the 2018 Tour de France.

A demanding mountain stage

The 11th stage will set off from Albertville and pass through Beaufort, the Cormet de Roselend and Bourg-Saint-Maurice. The cyclists will then have a steep climb of 20km ahead of them (1,000m ascent) up to the resort. That’ll get their thighs burning! In total, they will pedal 108km, making it a relatively short stage, but one that promises some spectacular action.


The climb up through the villages – winding through Montvalezan, Le Châtelard and Hauteville – is highly demanding and is sure to give rise to some fierce tussles between the climbers. It will also treat spectators to breathtaking views of the Haute-Tarentaise Valley. Some cyclists will already have tackled this climb in the resort’s uphill cycling races from Séez to La Rosière, which are organised every Friday during the summer season. The finishing line for this 11th stage of the 2018 Tour de France will be positioned in the resort centre, just in front of the Maison du Ski, and parallel with the bottom of Roches Noires Express chairlift.


We look forward to seeing you on Wednesday 18th July 2018 for this major international event, the highlight of our summer season. A spectacular setting, cheering crowds and a fierce battle to the finish: it’s the recipe for a thrilling day of sport and entertainment !



– The road through the resort centre will be closed to all motor vehicles from 7pm on the day before the race (Tuesday 17th July), from the roundabout at the resort entrance up to the Petit Saint-Bernard Hospice. No traffic will be allowed on the road (including residents) until 10pm on the Wednesday, which means that the road through the Petit Saint-Bernard pass will also be closed during this time (you can still drive up to the pass from Italy). Vehicles will still be able to access Les Eucherts.

– The RD84 (road through the villages) will also be closed to all traffic (including residents) from 8pm on Tuesday 17th July until 7pm on Wednesday 18th July.

– From the roundabout in Séez, the main road up to La Rosière (RD1090) will be closed from 10am at the latest on the day of the race (Wednesday 18th July 2018). We strongly recommend that spectators wishing to drive up to La Rosière do so before 10am. Spectators are free to cycle or walk up to the resort all day long.



– Spectators who park their car in Les Eucherts will be allowed to drive back down the mountain from 7pm on the day of the race.

– Spectators are asked to park in the car parks set up in Les Eucherts and on the Plan de l’Arc. Resort volunteers will then point them in the direction of the resort centre.



  • Passage in Bourg Saint-Maurice: 2.44 pm
  • Passage to Seez : 2.48 pm
  • Arrival at La Rosiere: 3.37  pm



  • Departure at 2 pm from Albertville.
  • Roseland Cormet Summit: 4.05 pm
  • Passage in Bourg Saint-Maurice: 4.25 pm
  • Passage to Seez: 4.30 pm
  • Arrival at La Rosiere: 5.10 pm



  • Distribution of pink T-shirt on the finish line / in the village of Châtelard / in the bend of the Seveureux (village road that joins the national road): 2.30 pm
  • Platoon operation France Montagnes / ESF : scheduled arrival at La Rosière: 3.00 pm => 1 / 2 h before caravan


More info

Watch a video of the route for the 2018 Tour de France:

And see La Rosière on the official Tour de France website

List of the 2018 Tour de France teams

22 teams will take part in this year’s Tour de France: 18 UCI WorldTeams and 4 wildcards.

UCI WorldTeams:

  • AG2R La Mondiale (FRA)
  • Astana Pro Team (KAZ)
  • Bahrain – Merida (BRN)
  • BMC Racing Team (USA)
  • Bora – Hansgrohe (GER)
  • FDJ (FRA)
  • Lotto Soudal (BEL)
  • Mitchelton- Scott (AUS)
  • Movistar Team (ESP)
  • Quick-Step Floors (BEL)
  • Team Dimension Data (ZAF)
  • Team EF Education First – Drapac P/B Cannondale (USA)
  • Team Katusha – Alpecin (CHE)
  • Team Lotto NL – Jumbo (NER)
  • Team Sky (GBR)
  • Team Sunweb (GER)
  • Trek – Segafredo (USA)
  • UAE Team Emirates (UAE)


  • Cofidis, Solutions Crédits (FRA)
  • Direct Energie (FRA)
  • Team Fortuneo – Samsic (FRA)
  • Wanty – Groupe Gobert (BEL)